At Last, My Trial

June, 2015

The call I had been waiting on for so long finally came. At the worst moment I could have imagined. We can’t mess with karma. I messed up big time I suppose. So I rushed back to Chiang Mai.

Two days later, the court hearing. I walked past the holding cells, right into a room with some wooden benches. About 30 other people were inside.

20151006_203117

At the front of the room I saw a tv, a microphone and a camera. We were waiting for thejudge to appear on the screen. A police officer was seated at the corner of the room, right next to the exit.

Most people who were with me in the room were men. Different ages. Some of them looked normal, some tired, nervous, poor, and some just looked sad and lost.

The first names were called. A large group of about 15 drunk drivers were called up front. They were each given a fine and two of them were taken back to the holding cells.The others returned to their seats.

Some other people were called. I couldn’t understand what they were convicted of and waited patiently for my turn.

I heard my name being called and walked up to the microphone. While I stood there I felt the eyes of an audience burning from behind. I realized that I had more important things on my mind and answered the questions of the judge:

“Did you work for this company?”

“Yes, I did.”

“Do you want a lawyer?

“No, I don’t.”

“Are you guilty?” (of working for a different company than stated on your work permit..)

“Yes, I am.”

IMG-20150101-WA0007

That was it. And a small fine with ” jail discount”. I felt as if I had lost my virginity. An open road and a sunset beer waiting. Free at last.

IMG-20150609-WA0004

One thought on “At Last, My Trial

Leave a Reply

